Alabama State Government


Alabama comes from the Choctaw word albah amo meaning thicket-clearers or plant cutters.

Capital: Montgomery

Largest Cities: Auburn, Birmingham, Decatur, Dothan, Florence, Gadsden, Hoover, Huntsville, MobileTuscaloosa, Tuskegee

Present Constitution Drafted: 1901

Entered Union: December 14, 1819 (22)

Motto: “We Dare Defend Our Rights”

State Flower: Camellia

State Tree: Southern Pine

State Bird: Yellowhammer

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Monarch Butterfly

State Song: “Alabama”

Nickname: The Heart of Dixie, The Camellia State, The Yellowhammer State