Arizona State Government

Arizona has ancient roots as the Uto-Aztecan word ali sona-g, which was adopted by the Spaniards as Arizonac, meaning good oaks.

Capital: Phoenix

Largest Cities: Flagstaff, Glendale, Lake Havasu City, Mesa, NogalesPrescottScottsdale, Tempe, Tucson, Winslow, Yuma

Present Constitution Drafted: 1911

Entered Union: February 14, 1912 (48)

Motto: “God enriches”

State Flower: Blossom of saguaro cactus

State Tree: Paloverde

State Bird: Cactus Wren

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Not Specified

State Song: “Arizona”

Nickname: Grand Canyon State