Idaho State Government


Idaho has notorious roots in the Athabaskan word idaahe, meaning enemy. It was originally applied to part of Colorado before being given to the Gem State.

Capital: Boise

Largest Cities: Coeur d’AleneIdaho Falls, Kellogg, Ketchum, Lewiston, Moscow, Nampa, Pocatello, Rexburg, Rigby, Salmon, Sun ValleyTwin Falls

Present Constitution Drafted: 1890

Entered Union: July 3, 1890 (43)

Motto: “It is forever”

State Flower: Syringa

State Tree: White Pine

State Bird: Mountain Bluebird

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Monarch Butterfly

State Song: “Here We Have Idaho”

Nickname: Gem State