Kansas State Government


Kansas references the Kansa tribe, meaning people of the south wind. Makes sense for tornado alley.

Capital: Topeka

Largest Cities: Abilene, Dodge City, Goodland, Great Bend, Kansas City, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Lebanon, Olathe, Overland Park, SalinaUlysses, Wichita

Present Constitution Drafted: 1859

Entered Union: January 29, 1861 (34)

Motto: “To the stars through difficulties”

State Flower: Sunflower

State Tree: Cottonwood

State Bird: Western Meadowlark

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Home on the Range”

Nickname: Sunflower State