Georgia State Government


Georgia may be known for its southern hospitality, but it’s actually named for King George II from Great Britain.

Capital: Atlanta

Largest Cities: Albany, AthensAugusta, Brunswick, Clarkesville, Columbus, Macon, Marietta, Richmond Hill, Roswell, Savannah, Smyrna, Vidalia, Warner Robins

Present Constitution Drafted: 1977

Entered Union: January 2, 1788 (4)

Motto: “Wisdom, Justice, Moderation “

State Flower: Cherokee Rose

State Tree: Live Oak

State Bird: Brown Thrasher

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Georgia on My Mind”

Nickname: Empire State of the South, Peach State