Vermont State Government

Vermont has an elegant French sound and meaning – mont vert means green mountain in French.

Capital: Montpelier

Largest Cities: Barre, Bennington, Bratlleboro, Burlington, Essex JunctionHartford, Middlebury, MiltonNewport, Rutland, St. Albans, Saint Johnsbury, South Burlington, Springfield, Winooski

Present Constitution Drafted: 1793

Entered Union: March 4, 1791 (14)

Motto: “Vermont, Freedom and Unity”

State Flower: Red Clover

State Tree: Sugar Maple

State Bird: Hermit Thrush

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Hail, Vermont”

Nickname: The Green Mountain State