Alaska State Government


Alaska has ties to the Aleuts and the Russians, with the words alaxsxaq and Аляска, respectively, essentially meaning mainland.

Capital: Juneau

Largest Cities: Anchorage, Barrow, Bethel, FairbanksKenai, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Nome, Sitka, Unalaska

Present Constitution Drafted: April 24, 1956

Entered Union: January 3, 1959 (49)

Motto: “North to the Future”

State Flower: Forget-Me-Not

State Tree: Sitka Spruce

State Bird: Willow Ptatmigan

State Dog: Alaskan Malamute

State Insect: Four-Spot Skimmner Dragonfly

State Song: “Alaska’s Flag”

Nickname: The Last Frontier, The Land of the Midnight Sun