South Carolina

South Carolina State Government

North and South Carolina are named after a monarch, King Charles II, as Carolus is the proper Latin version of Charles.

Capital: Columbia

Largest Cities: Beaufort, Charleston, Cheraw, GreenvilleGreenwood, Florence, Hilton Head Island, Mount Pleasant, Myrtle Beach, North Charleston, Rock Hill, Spartanburg, Summerville, Sumter

Present Constitution Drafted: 1895

Entered Union: May 23, 1788 (8)

Motto: “While I Breathe, I Hope”, “Prepared in Mind and Resources”

State Flower: Carolina Yellow Jasmine

State Tree: Palmetto Tree

State Bird: Carolina Wren

State Dog: Boykin Spaniel

State Insect: Carolina Mantid

State Song: “Carolina”

Nickname: The Palmetto State