Mississippi State Government


Mississippi literally means big river in Algonquin Ojibwa, although it’s based on the French variation of the word.

Capital: Jackson

Largest Cities: BiloxiColumbus, Greeenville, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Holly Springs, Meridian, Natchez, Ocean SpringsOxford, Pascagoula, Southaven, Tupelo, Vicksburg

Present Constitution Drafted: 1890

Entered Union: December 10, 1817 (20)

Motto: “By Valor and Arms”

State Flower: Flower or bloom of the magnolia or evergreen magnolia

State Tree: Magnolia

State Bird: Mockingbird

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Go Mississippi”

Nickname: The Magnolia State