Arkansas State Government

Arkansas is the French pronunciation of an Algonquin name for the Quapaw people, akansa.

Capital: Little Rock

Largest Cities: Conway, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Murfreesboro, North Little Rock, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Springfield

Present Constitution Drafted: 1874

Entered Union: June 15, 1836 (25)

Motto: “The People Rule”

State Flower: Apple Blossom

State Tree: Pine

State Bird: Mockingbird

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Arkansas”

Nickname: The Natural State, The Razorback State, The Land of Opportunity