Colorado State Government


Colorado is another Spanish-influenced name that essentially means ruddy or ruddish. The name was first applied to the Colorado River for its distinctive color.

Capital: Denver

Largest Cities: Aspen, Aurora, Boulder, Colorado Springs, Durango, Grand Junction, Lakewood, Lamar, Pueblo, Steamboat Springs, Sterling, Vail

Present Constitution Drafted: 1876

Entered Union: August 1, 1876 (38)

Motto: “Nothing Without Providence”

State Flower: Rocky Mountain Columbine

State Tree: Colorado Blue Spruce

State Bird: Lark Bunting

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Colorado Hairstreak Butterfly

State Song: “Where the Columbines Grow”

Nickname: Centennial State