Delaware State Government


Delaware is also named for a body of water, but that body of water was named for Baron De la Warr, the first English governor of Virginia. The baron’s name is old French for of the war.

Capital: Dover

Largest Cities: Bethany BeachElsmereGeorgetown, Harrington, Lewes, Middleton, Milford, Newark, New Castle, Rehoboth Beach, Seaford, Smyrna, Wilmington

Present Constitution Drafted: 1897

Entered Union: December 7, 1787 (1)

Motto: “Liberty and Independence”

State Flower: Peach Blossom

State Tree: American Holly

State Bird: Blue Hen Chicken

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Ladybug

State Song: “Our Delaware”

Nickname: The First State, Diamond State

More ‘Fun Facts’ about Delaware…