Hawaii State Government


Hawaii comes from the Polynesian word hawaiki, meaning place of the Gods. It was, however, originally named the Sandwich Islands by James Cook in the late 1700s.

Capital: Honolulu

Largest Cities: Haleiwa, HiloKa Lae, Kaila, Kaneohe, Kapa, Lahaina, Lanai City, Lihue, Waipahu

(Please Note: The only official city websites are Honolulu and Haleiwa. If you have a better site, please let me know.)

Organized As a Territory: 1900

Entered Union: August 21, 1959 (50)

Motto: “The Life of the Land is Perpetuated in Righteousness”

State Flower: Yellow Hibiscus

State Tree: Kukui (Candlenut)

State Bird: Nene (Hawaiian goose)

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Not Specified

State Song: “Hawaii Ponoi”

Nickname: Aloha State