Indiana State Government


Indiana, as you might expect, stems from the English word Indian. The Latin suffix tacked on the end roughly means “land of the.”

Capital: Indianapolis

Largest Cities: Anderson, Bloomington, Columbus, Evansville, Fort Wayne, Gary, HammondLafayette, Muncie, Richmond, South Bend, Terre Haute, Vincennes

Present Constitution Drafted: 1851

Entered Union: December 11, 1816 (19)

Motto: “The Crossroads of America”

State Flower: Peony

State Tree: Tulip Tree

State Bird: Cardinal

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Not Specified

State Song: “On the Banks of the Wabash”

Nickname: The Hoosier State