Iowa State Government


Iowa comes from the Dakota word yuxba, meaning sleepy ones.

Capital: Des Moines

Largest Cities: Ames, Cedar Rapids, Council Bluffs, DavenportDubuque, Fort Dodge, Iowa City, Mason City, Sioux City, Waterloo

Present Constitution Drafted: 1857

Entered Union: December 28, 1846 (29)

Motto: “Our Liberties We Prize and Our Rights We Will Maintain”

State Flower: Wild Rose

State Tree: Oak

State Bird: Easter Finch

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Not Specified

State Song: “Song of Iowa”

Nickname: The Hawkeye State