Louisiana State Government


Louisiana, like Georgia, was named for a regent of the times, specifically, Louis XIV of France.

Capital: Baton Rouge

Largest Cities: AlexandriaBossier City, Kenner, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Monroe, New Iberia, New Orleans, Shreveport, Slidell

Present Constitution Drafted: 1974

Entered Union: April 30, 1812 (18)

Motto: “Union, Justice and Confidence”

State Flower: Magnolia

State Tree: Bald Cyrus

State Bird: Pelican

State Dog: Catahoula Leapard Dog

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Give Me Louisiana”, “You Are My Sunshine”

Nickname: The Pelican State, Sportsman’s Paradise, The Creole State, The Sugar State