Montana State Government


Montana has some Spanish flair that links back to the Latin mons, for mountains.

Capital: Helena

Largest Cities: Baker, Billings, Bozeman, Butte-Silver Bow, Dillon, Great Falls, Hardin, HavreKalispell, Lewistown, Missoula, Shelby, Wolf Point

Present Constitution Drafted: 1972

Entered Union: November 8 1889 (41)

Motto: “Gold and silver”

State Flower: Bitterroot

State Tree: Ponderosa Pine

State Bird: Western Meadowlark

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Not Specified

State Song: “Montana”

Nickname: Treasure State