Nebraska State Government

Nebraska stems from the Sioux name for the Platte River, omaha ni braska, meaning flat water.

Capital: Lincoln

Largest Cities: Bellevue, Broken Bow, Chadron, Grand Island, Hastings, Kearny, Norfolk, North Platte, Omaha, ScottsBluff, South Sioux City, Valentine

Present Constitution Drafted: 1875

Entered Union: March 1, 1867 (37)

Motto: “Equality before the law”

State Flower: Goldenrod

State Tree: Cottonwood

State Bird: Western Meadowlark

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Beautiful Nebraska”

Nickname: Cornhusker State, Beef State