New Hampshire

New Hampshire State Government

New Hampshire is the first of many states and cities named as new outposts of other parts of the world. In this case, Hampshire was a county in Southampton, England.

Capital: Concord

Largest Cities: Berlin, Brookline, Concord, Derry, Dover, Exeter, GrovetonHanover, Hudson, Lanconia, Littleton, Manchester, Merrimack, NashuaNewport, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Salem, RochesterWinchester

Present Constitution Drafted: 1784

Entered Union: June 21, 1788 (9)

Motto: “Live Free or Die”

State Flower: Purple Lilac

State Tree: White Birch

State Bird: Purple Finch

State Insect: Ladybug

State Dog: Chinook

State Song: “Old New Hampshire” “New New Hampshire, My New Hampshire”

Nickname: The Granite State