New Jersey

New Jersey State Government

New Jersey was coined by Sir George Carteret of the Channel Island of Jersey.

Capital: Trenton

Largest Cities: Asbury Park, Atlantic City, Camden, Cape May, Delran, Dover, Edison, Elizabeth, Hamilton, Hoboken, Jersey City, Newark,  Paterson, PrincetonVineland, Woodbridge

Present Constitution Drafted: 1947

Entered Union: December 18, 1787 (3)

Motto: “Liberty and Prosperity”

State Flower: Purple Violet

State Tree: Red Oak

State Bird: EasternGoldfinch

State Insect: Honeybee

State Dog: Not Specified

State Song: None

Nickname: The Garden State