North Carolina

North Carolina State Government

Capital: Raleigh

Largest Cities: Asheville, Cape Hatteras, Cary, Charlotte, Durham, Fayetteville, Greensboro, High Point, Jacksonville, Kitty Hawk, Roanoke Rapids, Wilmington, Winston-Salem

Present Constitution Drafted: 1971

Entered Union: November 21, 1789 (12)

Motto: “To Be Rather Than to Seem”

State Flower: Dogwood

State Tree: Pine

State Bird: Cardinal

State Dog: Plott Hound

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “The Old North State”

Nickname: Tar Heel State, Old North State