North Dakota

North Dakota State Government

Capital: Bismarck

Largest Cities: Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot

Present Constitution Drafted: 1889

Entered Union: November 2, 1889 (39)

Motto: “Liberty and union, now and forever, one and inseperable”

State Flower: Prarie Rose

State Tree: American Elm

State Bird: Western Meadowlark

State Dog: Not Identified

State Insect: Convergent Lady Beetle (Lady Bug)

State Song: “North Dakota Hymn”

Nickname: Sioux State, Flickertail State, Peace Garden State