Texas State Government

Texas is another old Spanish name from the word tejas, meaning friends or allies.

Capital: Austin

Largest Cities: Abilene, Arlington, Amarillo, AtlantaBeaumont, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston, Lubbock, Midland, Plano, San Antonio

Present Constitution Drafted: 1876

Entered Union: December 29, 1845 (28)

Motto: “Friendship”

State Flower: Bluebonnet

State Tree: Pecan

State Bird: Mockingbird

State Dog: Blue Lacy

State Insect: Monarch Butterfly

State Song: “Texas, Our Texas”

Nickname: The Lone Star State