Washington State Government

Washington is named for President George Washington. His surname means estate of a man named Wassa in Old English.

Capital: Olympia

Largest Cities: Aberdeen, Bellevue, Bellingham, Ephrata, Everett, Grand Coulee, Kelso, KennewickPasco, Port Angeles, Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma, Vancouver, Yakima, Walla Walla

Present Constitution Drafted: 1889

Entered Union: November 11, 1889 (42)

Motto: “Al-Ki – Indian word meaning ‘By and By'””

State Flower: Coast Rhododendron

State Tree: Western Hemlock

State Bird: Willow Goldfinch

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Green Darner Dragonfly

State Song: “Washington, My Home”

Nickname: Evergreen State, Chinook State