Wisconsin State Government

Wisconsin may come from the Miami word meskonsing, which was spelled by the French as mescousing and then shifted to ouisconsin.

Capital: Madison

Largest Cities: Appleton, Eau Claire, Green Bay, Janesville, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lac de FlambeauMilwaukee, Racine, River Falls, Superior, Waukesha, West Allis

Present Constitution Drafted : 1848

Entered Union: May 29 1848 (30)

Motto: “Forward”

State Flower: Wood Violet

State Tree: Sugar Maple

State Bird: Robin

State Dog: American Water Spaniel

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Oh, Wisconsin”

Nickname: The Badger State