South Dakota

South Dakota State Government

North and South Dakota: The word Dakota, of course, describes the Dakota people, but it also means friendly or allies.

Capital: Pierre

Largest Cities: Aberdeen, Brookings, Buffalo, Huron, Mitchell, Mobridge, Pine Ridge, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Vermillion, Watertown, Wounded Knee

Present Constitution Drafted: 1889

Entered Union: November 2, 1889 (40)

Motto: “Under God, the people rule”

State Flower: American Pasqueflower

State Tree: Black Hills Spruce

State Bird: Ring-necked Pheasant

State Dog: Not Specified

State Insect: Honeybee

State Song: “Hail! South Dakota”

Nickname: Mount Rushmore State, Coyote State